THE Prime Minister's call for an early election stunned Westminster – and the country – this week.

But the June 8 election could mean an extended period of security for the MP elected into the North Herefordshire seat.

The constituency has been held by Bill Wiggin since 2001 – from 2001 to 2010 when it was called 'Leominster' and since 2010 as 'North Herefordshire'.

And, if the result of the 2015 general election is anything to go by, it's unlikely that there will be any change after the results showed both the North Herefordshire and Hereford and South Herefordshire seats were among the safest in the country.

It will be welcome news for Mr Wiggin, whose North Herefordshire seat was being considered for changes under the 2018 boundary review.

Under the proposals, published by the Boundary Commission for England (BCE), the North Herefordshire constituency would merge with South Shropshire.

It could well have meant that Mr Wiggin's seat was under threat, with his patch merging with that of South Shropshire MP Philip Dunne. The proposals have just been through a second round of statutory consultation and are now being considered in detail before a final public consultation on revised proposals towards the end of the year.

Mr Wiggin, who increased his majority to 19,996 in the last election, has said he intends to stand and supports the Prime Minister's call for an election now.

He said: "We have a one-off chance to hold an election while the European Union agrees its negotiating position and before the detailed talks begin. This decision cannot be delayed and needs to happen now. That is the only way to end the uncertainty the other parties are causing.

"If we don’t have an election, we will have uncertainty and instability. The negotiations will reach their most difficult stage in the run-up to the next scheduled general election. Division in Westminster will risk our ability to make a success of Brexit and cause uncertainty and instability."

He said the government will negotiate a 'deep and special partnership' between a strong and successful European Union and a United Kingdom that is free to chart its own way in the world.

But, he said, the plan is opposed by other parties.

He added: "You can only get the strong leadership the country needs by voting for Theresa May."

Meanwhile, MP for Hereford and South Herefordshire, Jesse Norman, has announced his intention to stand on June 8, once he is formally adopted as the official Conservative party candidate.

He said: "Having won the seat in 2010 I was massively honoured to be re-elected by a majority of nearly 17,000 votes in 2015, and I very much look forward to making the case again to the people of Hereford and South Herefordshire in the coming campaign."

Diana Toynbee will again contest the seat for the Green Party – opposing extreme Brexit and offering a 'bold alternative' to austerity. Green policies also include opposing privatisation of the NHS and cuts to local authority services.

The 2015 North Herefordshire result was: Bill Wiggin (Conservative) 26,716, Jonathan Oakton (UKIP) 6,720, Jeanie Falconer (Lib Dem) 5,768 votes, Sally Prentice (Labour) 5,478 and Daisy Blench (Green) 3,341.

The Hereford and south Herefordshire results were: Jesse Norman (Conservative) 24,844, Nigel Ely (UKIP) 7,954, Anna Coda (Labour) 6,042, Lucy Hurds (Lib Dem) 5,002 and Diana Toynbee (Green) 3,415.