FAIR weather heralded the start of Roger Brierly’s year as captain of The Worcestershire when a substantial field took to the Malvern Wells course for his drive-in and inaugural competition.

The four-ball alliance, with two scores to count at each hole, was split into morning and afternoon rounds, divided by a successful captain’s drive-in.

Morning winners with 87 points were Andy McCabe (handicap 5), Paul Wakely (9), Allan Watts (6) and Tom Howells (4) – the same victorious team as last year.

Second with 80 were Martin Teale (9), Jim Pawson (14), Rob Merley (16) and Dave Shilvock (27).

Andy Dunster (5), Jason Allies (4), Phil Shurmer (2) and Nick Smith (5) finished third on 79.

In the afternoon. the honours went to Neil Smith (11), Phil Park (9), Mark Read (5) and Phil Birch (6) with 83.

They were ahead of Brierly (9), new vice-captain Steve Bradshaw (8), outgoing captain Mike Sterry (15) and club professional Richard Lewis on 81.

Phil Dance (4), Marcus Holman (10), Kevin Field (20) and Larry Long (26) took third place on 79.

Mike Bolton claimed the prize for the member whose guess was closest to the 284-yard drive achieved by the new captain.