DAVID Flanagan lifted the Wormington Salver at The Worcestershire in Malvern Wells.

A large entry for the first round of the popular EW Evans Centenary Stableford saw the Division Two player, off a handicap of 13, lift the trophy available to those with at least 10 years’ club membership.

Stuart Green (13 handicap) followed Flanagan home in the division, also with 36 points, ahead of Chris Hardy (13) on 35.

Neil Bogart (12) took Division One from Tim Cain (9) and Phil Birch (6), all on 36.

Division Three winner Terry Cox (19) carded 36 too, ahead of Mike Bolton (20-35) and Jerry Hibbert (22-34).

The midweek veterans’ stableford also saw tight scoring with James Ferguson (16) winning Division One with 36 points, ahead of Colin Preece (11-35) and John Williams (16-31).

In Division Two, Steve Walters (17) secured the win on 36, ahead of Graham Hill (19), Alan Homfray (22) and Graham Collins on 35.

Changeable weather challenged the ladies in their stableford with wind, rain, hail and sunshine all figuring.

Alison Tuck continued her good form in winning the Silver Division with 35 points on count-back from Pauline Belsham.

Sue Boardman headed a group on 33 to secure third place.

In the Bronze Division, Lisa Digings edged out Margaret Duncan, both on 33, with Vanessa Chesterton third on 29.

Jenny Jones claimed the Copper Division with 30, ahead of Sharon Williams on 29.

In club matches, visitors Evesham found Steve Bradshaw’s ‘B’ team too hot to handle on home soil.

Team pairings of Dave Flanagan and Dave Turner, Bradshaw and Tom Howells, Mike Sterry and Gary Eames, Allan Davies and Len Coleman, Patrick McIlroy and Rob Merley and Mike Bolton and Terry Cox recorded an impressive 6-0 victory.

A trip to Chepstow saw mixed match organisers Trevor and Brenda Cox lead by example in the team’s fine 4-3 victory against St Pierre.

Warm weather brought out the best in The Worcestershire team of seven pairs.

The other winning combinations were Andy Turner and Di Meakin, Ralph and Elsie Kelsall and Gordon and Joan Herbert.