CLUBS and volunteers from across the county are among the winners of the Worcestershire FA McDonald’s Community Awards.

The prizes recognise grassroots heroes for their efforts over the past 12 months and winners were selected by a panel of county FA and McDonald’s representatives following a seven-week public nomination period.

The eight winners will now be shortlisted for the regional FA community awards, where they will be judged alongside other county winners to represent the West Midlands region in the national shortlist.

Nichola Trigg, Worcestershire FA chief executive, said: “The grassroots awards are a chance for us to recognise those volunteers, coaches and clubs that sacrifice so much throughout the year and say thank you to them.

“Without them, we wouldn’t have safe and structured environments where youngsters can develop their footballing talent. We are delighted the FA and McDonald’s have provided us with the opportunity to recognise them through the FA Community Awards and we wish them all the best at the regional and, hopefully, national stages.”

Winners, people’s choice award (outstanding contribution to community football): Peter Mannion (Welland); FA charter standard community club award: Kidderminster Lions; FA charter standard development club award: Wyre Forest Phoenix; FA charter standard club award: Worcestershire Disability; FA charter standard league award: Stourport and District Youth League; volunteer of the year: Ian Gill (Pershore Town); young volunteer of the year: Joe Grange (Lower Teme Lions); coach of the year: Luke Norman (Pershore Town Juniors).