TEAMS are being urged to respect the divisions they have been placed in for the new McDonald’s Worcester and District Sunday League season.

Following an influx of new teams, coupled with an exodus at the end of last season, officials have had to re-jig the make-up of the six-division competition for 2014-15.

Twelve teams have joined the league for the new campaign but 13 have left, most of which were from the Premier Division due to lack of numbers.

Although the overall number is only down by one to 70, several sides have found themselves being promoted as officials try to find the right level for everybody.

League secretary Tim Phillips said: “We have spent a lot of time trying to get the balance right and I would ask you all to respect the decisions taken.

“All I will say is that there is bound to be considerable upward movement for a lot of clubs, as we have lost exactly half of the Premier Division that started last season.”

“We do of course, reserve the right to make changes to the divisions, in the event of teams dropping out before the season starts.”

The new season kicks off on Sunday, September 7, and is due to end on Sunday, May 17, weather permitting.

The league’s constitution was unveiled following the annual general meeting on Monday, which was held at Claines RBL.

Several committee changes were announced, chief of which saw Percy Rushton stand down as president and be replaced by Trevor Jones.

Andy Purslow takes over from Ted Gerard-Thesingh as registration secretary and he will be assisted by Lee Birt, while Kerry Mayne was appointed assistant to league secretary Phillips.

The fair play award went to Droitwich Spa Eagles ‘A’, who just pipped Pillar of Salt Korno and Old Vigornians to the honour.


Premier Division: Kempsey, Arrow Upton 2000, Brewers Athletic, Callow End, Droitwich Spa Eagles, Hallow, Malvern Radar, Perrywood, Powick, The Bell @ Pensax, WCT Raiders.

Division One: Claines, FC Droitwich Town, Gloster Arms, Halfway House, Hallow Village, Malvern Victoria, New Barbourne, Northside, St John’s, Worcester Lynx, Worcester Raiders, Worcester Saints.

Division Two: Ale Madrid, Falcons, Foresters Arms, Hornets, Malvern Rangers, Perrywood Reserves, Powick Reserves, University of Worcester, VBL Sports, Virgin Athletic, WCT Youth Raiders, Worcester City Wanderers.

Division Three: Alumni, Clifton Rovers, Colwall St James, Colwall Village, DM Upton, Droitwich RBL, FC Korono, Freemasons Arms, GDL Athletic, Hylton Road Rovers, Malvern Mans, Whitehall.

Division Four: Drakes Broughton Rangers, Droitwich Spa Eagles Res, FC Five Fathers, Hallow Reserves, Hornets Reserves, Oldbury Park Tigers, Old Vigornians, Riverside, The Bell @ Pensax Reserves, University of Worcester ‘A’, Worcester Rileys.

Division Five: Brickfields, Blackpole Sports, Pillar of Salt, Droitwich Spa Eagles ‘A’, Eaton Rovers, Martley Spurs, North Worcester Athletic, Old Boys Malvern, Spa Gas, St Peter’s, Sport Dysons, Westside.