THE Conservatives have easily held on to both of Herefordshire’s constituency seats.

Bill Wiggin fought off challenges from UKIP, Labour, Lib Dem and Green party candidates in North Herefordshire to increase his majority to 19,996, receiving 56 per cent of the votes.

Meanwhile, Jesse Norman won the Hereford and South Herefordshire seat by 16, 890 votes, taking 53 per cent.


Speaking at last night’s count, at Hereford Leisure Centre, Mr Norman thanked those who put their trust in him.

The two seats are now among the safest in the country after the Liberal Democrat vote in Herefordshire collapsed.

UKIP were also among the beneficiaries of the Lib Dem demise, finishing second in both county constituencies.

Herefordshire North result:

Daisy Blench (Green) 3,341

Jeanie Falconer (Lib Dem) 5,768

Jonathan Oakton (UKIP) 6,720

Sally Prentice (Labour) 5,478

Bill Wiggin (Conservative) 26,716

Hereford and South Herefordshire result:

Jesse Norman (Conservative) 24,844

Nigel Ely (UKIP) 7,954

Anna Coda (Labour) 6,042

Lucy Hurds (Lib Dem) 5,002

Diana Toynbee (Green) 3,415