SOME of the district’s best sports men and women will celebrate their achievements at this year’s Malvern Hills District Community Sports Awards.

The ninth annual event, being held on Thursday, July 11, at the Bank House Hotel in Bransford, recognises sporting success as well as the commitment of the volunteers and coaches who support athletes and clubs across the district.

Run by Malvern Hills District Council in association with headline sponsor Freedom Leisure, there will be awards up for grabs in 12 different categories.

The keynote speaker is Paralympian Mel Nicholls, who is a wheelchair racer, endurance handcyclist and adventurer.

Mel will be telling her inspiring story, including her attempt to become the fastest person to handcycle from Land’s End to John O’Groats in June this year.

Cllr Tom Wells, the council's portfolio holder, said: “We are delighted to be hosting the sports awards for another year in association with our headline sponsor Freedom Leisure. It is an opportunity to celebrate the sporting achievements of those individuals and groups across the district.

“As a council, we are committed to encouraging people to be more active and to look after their health and well-being. The awards shine a light on those making a positive impact on their community through sport which inspires others to get involved too.”


Community Project of the Year (sponsored by Sports Partnership Herefordshire and Worcestershire): MTFC Junior Club Matchday Experience; Pendock Spring Chicken Run; The Friday Night Project.

Inclusive Project of the Year (sponsored by Three Counties Showground):

L&BBFC Inclusivity and Increased Participation Project; Swim Inspiration.

Sports Schools of the Year (sponsored by Rural South Worcestershire Community Safety Partnership): Pendock Primary School; Tenbury CE Primary Academy.

Team of the Year (sponsored by Automated Packaging Systems): L&BBFC U12 Saints; Motionesque.

Coach of the Year: Adele Hodges - City of Worcester and Malvern Gymnastics Club; Gemma Hinton - Dance in Motion Academy; Jazz Kristy - City of Worcester and Malvern Gymnastics Club.

Club of the Year (sponsored by Fortis Living): Kempsey Tennis Club; Leigh and Bransford Badgers Football Club; Malvern Buzzards Running Club.

Positive Change of the Year (sponsored by YMCA Worcestershire): Bronwen Matthews - Malvern Splash; Nicola Turrell - Malvern Buzzards Running Club.

Volunteer of the Year (sponsored by Melton Group): Bradley Barnes - City of Worcester and Malvern Gymnastics Club; Simeon Foreman, Malvern Buzzards Running Club.

Young Female Sports Personality of the Year (sponsored by Malvern Panalytical): Bryony Heasman - Dance in Motion Academy; Charlotte Martin - Worcester Crocodiles; Sarah-Jane Ollis - Worcester Athletics.

Young Male Sports Personality of the Year (sponsored by Cue Events): Charlie Bennett - Worcester Wolves Basketball Academy; Daniel Day - Worcester Crocodiles; Malachi Cashmore - Malvern Triathlon Club.

Sports Personality of the Year (sponsored by Worcestershire County Cricket Club): Ellen Cochrane - Gaia Horsemanship; Esme Ruff - Malvern Hills Riding Club; Harriet Harnden; Malvern Cycle Sport.

Unsung Hero of the Year (sponsored by Freedom Leisure): Lisa Stride-Turner - British Dressage; Peter Daffin - Malvern Town Football Club.