THE Worcestershire held their annual presentation with a full clubhouse marking fellow competitors' achievements through a competitive season.

Captain Peter Basten presented most of the 43 trophies with some regular names repeating wins from previous years.

Mark Read and Phil Birch reclaimed the Ledbury Cup while Andy McCabe ­— a five-time winner ­— and Tom Howells collected the Stan McCabe Trophy from Pauline McCabe in memory of her husband.

Johnny Williams teamed up with Read to win the Spreckley Foursomes 41 years after his first victory in the event.


Steve Lane, Chance Cup (club champion); Alan Smith, RNLI; Sam Macleod and Patrick McIlroy, Chairman’s Cup; Hamish Campbell and Brian Pleass, Chapmans Foursomes; Nick Smith and Phil Shurmer, Tankard Foursomes Stableford; Nick Day and Rob Schooling, Winter Four-ball; Peter Basten, Wormington Salver; David Fraser, Easter Challenge; John Whitehead, Spencer Cup; Nigel Teale, Horton and Proffessional Cups; Lyyn Morgan, Garnet Scott Tankard; Dave Marshall, Captains Prize and Parker Trophy; Garry Lynes, June Medal and Irish Cup; Andrew Longley, Left Handers and Schweppes Cup; Jason Allies, Garnet Scott Memorial; Terry Lloyd, Parker Vase; Roy Philips, Sunday Cup; Guy Ralphs, July Medal; Andy McCabe, James Cup; Phil Bayliss, Ron Richardson Trophy; Neville Clarke, EW Evans Trophy; Mathew Brookes, Deerhurst Cup; Greg Michael and Neil Anderson, Alan Courtney Cup; Andy Dunster and Jason Allies, Devere Trophy; Cuth McDowell and Mark Roberts, Malvern Cup; Ralph Kelsall, Len Phipps Cup; Colin Goodrum, Fiddian Green Spoon; Nick Day, Claret Jug; Maurice Moore, Autumn Cup; Dave Jeynes, Cotton Tankard; Tom Howells, College Cup; Steve Homes, Eclectic Cup; Nigel Allam, Tweddell Trophy.

The Worcestershire's four-ball alliance with a shotgun start was well supported.

The best two scores were recorded on par four and five holes and three on par threes.

With 21 teams and 84 players, a tight finish saw Guy Ralphs, Duncan Rowberry, Alex Garwood-Gowers and Wayne Stanton win with 93 points.

Second on countback with 92 were Dave Marshall, Phil Park, Dave Jeynes and Steve Carter from Andy McCabe, Howells, Mike Sterry and Tom Davies.

The captain's team of Basten, Roger Brierly, Paul Jones and chairman Michael Hanna were one behind in fourth.

The county over 55 scratch foursomes first round involved two The Worcestershire sides.

The A team led by Read secured a close win against The Abbey, Redditch.

Read and Andy Dunster and Andrew Longley and Phil Shurmer gained the points.

The B team narrowly lost to Worcester Golf and Country Club A as Brierly and Colin Goodrum scored one home point.

In the ladies' three-ball alliance, Joan Herbert, Jane Quick and Jen Bishop lost out on countback to the second-placed Brenda Jones, Betty Hakes and Jill Brierly with 73 points.

Clear winners with 76 were Liz Pool, Hazel Cartledge and Sue Wood.

The midweek stableford went to Andy Price with 35 points.

Greg Michael and Dave Flanaghan took the winter four-ball round two with 48 points by one from Nick Day and Rob Schooling.