THE Paperstation Malvern Table Tennis League held their 73rd annual tournament.

Craig Preece retained the main singles title with a comeback win against former junior champion Dominic Weston.

Weston was among two out of eight finalists who came through the league’s coaching club.

In one of the best finals in the tournament’s history Weston won the first two games but Preece hit back to win the decider 11-7.

Weston also reached the Express TV doubles final but came up short with Ben Meredith against the more experienced team of Simon Claxton and Matt Hodges.

The number one women's player Anthea Knight defended her singles title by beating Liz Hallam.

But Knight and Colin Dolding failed to retain their mixed doubles title as Jude Tyson and Graham Thompson hit back from behind to win for the first time.

Knight and Dolding took the first two games in the Merediths Division Two doubles final only for Leon Claxton and Tom James to win the next three, clinching the title 12-10 in the decider.

Dolding did get a measure of revenge in his third final by beating Claxton in four games.

Sisters Zoe and Natasha Snee went one step further than last year with their first women's doubles title thanks to a comeback victory over defending champions Collette James and Tyson.

The youngest Snee sister Thea also competed in her first final but lost to Reece Taylor-Lock in the Payton Solicitors junior singles.

Taylor-Lock also tried to defend the Division Three singles but lost in five games to Neil Angell.

The senior singles saw Preece hold off a spirited fightback from Patryk Kowacz to win in five games.

Last year’s runner-up Simon Claxton clinched the Roy Holland veterans singles by edging out Nigel Foreshew in five games.

Trevor Davies beat Graham Collier in a repeat of last year’s super veterans singles final.

The Division Three doubles saw four first-time finalists as James Palmer and Bob Rhodes hit back from a game down to defeat Niels Eiriksson and John Redmond.

Will Jones became a three-time winner of the inter-divisional doubles as he joined Martin Snee to beat former champion John Stalker and Mark Shouler.