THE Worcestershire's Diane Meakin won the Worcestershire and Herefordshire Lady Veteran Golfers' Association final at Redditch against club-mate Denise Codrington.

Meakin beat home player Belinda Court 5&4 in the semis while Codrington defeated Jackie Marks two-up in a tight affair.

Helen Barnes won The Worcestershire's Len Phipps Trophy with 42 points ahead of Lucy Walton on 39 and Cathy Harris on 37.

Barbara Teale won the nine-hole stableford.

Sue Wood defeated Meakin 4&2 to claim the Porch Trophy winter handicap.

In the men’s midweek stableford Peter Taylor won from the yellow tees with 39 points and Anthony McQuaid on countback from Wickes Potgeiter from the white tees with 38.

Round one of the EW Evans in windy conditions saw Steven Lane, playing off scratch, win Division One with 37 points, John Whitehead Division Two with 36 and Neil Anderson Division Three with 33.

The mixed team started the season with a 7-1 win over visitors Droitwich.

Junior Grace Bowen won both her foursomes match with Anna Rock and a singles contest for the county first team against Gloucestershire.

Bown then played for the seconds against Northamptonshire, winning the foursomes with Lauren Sharp and getting a half in the singles.