THERE was a double dose of delight for striker Curt Williams at Ledbury Town’s end-of-season presentation evening.

Williams netted both the first-team’s top goalscorer prize having scored 22 goals in 28 appearances and the players’ player award after an impressive Herefordshire FA County League Premier Division campaign.

Town finished the season in third place – the highest position they have attained since being withdrawn from the West Midlands League due to financial problems five years ago.

Ledbury, managed by Pat Locke and Dean Rutter, also bagged the Herefordshire FA Charity Bowl while the reserves came runners up in the Herefordshire FA Junior Cup and ninth in Division One.

Promising young marksman Josh Burns struck 24 times in 25 games to win the top goalscorer for the reserves whose players’ player prize went to forward Sam Branch.

Locke and Rutter awarded their managers’ prize to midfield stalwart Charlie Jones for his work-rate throughout the season.

The same award was presented by reserves team coach David Butcher on behalf of player-manager Nick Blakeway to Dave Preece.

The midfielder played seven games in the space of just over a fortnight and his level of commitment is set to earn him a place in the senior side next season.

Matt Tristram saw off strong competition to win the young player award while Butcher presented that honour to teenager George Walker.

The superb development shown by Alistair Holder up front this season saw Butcher award the youngster with the most improved player award.

Ben Febery, who scored a memorable hat-trick against Holme Lacy in the league in January, picked up the same accolade from Locke.

Backroom staff member Paul Trigg was presented with the Paul Welch Memorial Shield fittingly from his son and first-team captain Tom Trigg for all his hard work behind the scenes at the club.

Defender Matt Rooke and former reserves team captain Nat Dunk picked up the Spike Beale Memorial Award presented in memory of the staunch Ledbury Town supporter who passed away a couple of years ago.

The club’s final ‘Prosecco Award’ was won by Charlie Docherty who overcame the disappointment of injury to score the winner against Holme Lacy in the Charity Bowl final.