THERE were excellent returns in the June stableford at Bransford Golf Club but none could match Dave Lewis.

Lewis (10 handicap) scored 46 points with three birdies and 11 pars to finish ahead of Andy Kennedy (10) on 41 and David Hunt (8) 40.

In Division Two Jason Beck (14) carded two birdies and seven pars for 44 to fend off Anthony Smith (27) on 40 and Gavin Heath (13) on 39.

Last year’s captain Mark Tipton (8) added another success by two points in the Bank House Trophy.

He had 42 in the stableford followed by Maks Wyard (5) on 40 and Ollie Walker (2) on 39 along with Hunt and Pete Sheppard (14).

The seniors’ Maureen Kemp Memorial Trophy, played as a pairs better-ball stableford, was won by Sheppard and Trevor Atkinson (15) with 45.

They were two ahead of John Knowles (24) and Andrew Jarvis (24) with Bill Bowen (19) and Mike Davidge (17) third on 42.

Harry Corbett (20) and Jane Smallwood (26), June Atkinson (19) and Jenny Bennett (19) and Andy Lamb (24) and Phil Spencer (19) all had 40.

All proceeds are going to the Stroke Association.

In the seniors’ June stableford Davidge beat Roy Burston (12) on countback with both on 36 in Division One while Spencer was third on 35.

Barry Benge (19) had the same total but lost out on countback.

Brian Taylor (24) just pipped John Phillips (21) on countback in Division Two after they both returned 37 and Bob McGrath (20) scored 34.

In Division Three Lamb (24) just squeezed home by one from Adrian Wood (24) on 43 with Mike Hendry (28) third on 35.

In the June medal Division One Atkinson won with 89 gross 15 handicap 74 nett ahead of Burston 87-12=75 and Rob Blake 91-15=76.

McGrath led Division Two with 96-20=76 followed by Bob Mathews 101-23=78 and Brian Corfield 102-24=78.

Allen Rowberry took Division Three with 101-27=74 in front of Lamb 102-26=76 and John Hadley 110-28=82.

Coral Handley (25) won the Anniversary Trophy and then topped the ladies’ June medal with 102-25=77 compared to 129-36=93 from Daphne Hayes.